Senate Minority Leader, Sen. Simon Mwadkwon Floors LP, APC & PRP as Tribunal affirms His Resounding Victory

The Petitions Filed by the Candidates of the Labour Party (LP), Barr. Gyang Yaya Zi, All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr. Chris Musa Giwa and People’s Redemption Party (PRP), Hon. Suleiman Kwande challenging the election of the Senate Minority Leader and Senator Plateau North, Sen. Simon Mwadkwon PhD have suffered monumental setbacks as the National Assembly Election Tribunal Sitting in Jos, the Plateau State Capital quashed the petitions affirming Sen. Simon Mwadkwon as duly and validly elected as Senator Plateau North as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for the 25th May, 2023 Senatorial Poll for Plateau North.

In less than 24 Hours, the 3 Petitions all collapsed like packs of cards as the Election Petitions Tribunal (EPT) in the separate unanimous judgments dismissed the petitions affirming that Sen. Simon Mwadkwon was duly elected as Senator Plateau North.

On Thursday 24th August, 2023 the Tribunal in its ruling struck out the Petition No. EPT/SEN/04/2024 filed by the Candidate of the Labour Party, Barr. Gyang Yaya Zi.
In its ruling, the Tribunal dismissed the petition in its entirety for lacking merit.

On Friday the 25th Day of August, 2023 again, the Election Petitions Tribunal dismissed the petitions by the APC and PRP Candidates thereby upholding the election of the Senate Minority Leader, Sen. Simon Mwadkwon.
To the Petition filed by Mr. Chris Musa Giwa of the APC with file number EPT/PL/SEN/01/2023, Hon. Justice William Rotimi Olamide, Chairman National Assembly & Houses of Assembly Plateau State Election Petition Tribunal said “This Petition is ineffective and affected by so many terminal diseases and no medicine on earth can cure it”

To the Petition brought by the PRP Candidate, Hon. Suleiman Kwande, Hon. Justice Emmanuel Nwazunku Ph D , Member 1, NASS and state Houses of Assembly Plateau Election Petition Tribunal Jos who delivered the Judgment today has this to say “Exhibits tendered by the Petitioner are worse than useless. This Petition is devoid of any iota of merit and it is hereby, dismissed”.

It will be recalled that the Senate Minority Leader, Dr. Simon Mwadkwon was declared Winner of the Senate Election by INEC Returning Officer Prof Jeff Godwin Doki on 28th February, 2023 having pulled 155,681 votes to defeat the Labour Party candidate, Barr. Gyang Zi who scored 79,831 votes, the APC candidate, Mr Chris Giwa got 78,392 while the PRP candidate, Hon. Suleiman Yahaya Kwande got 32,670 votes.

count | 119

Senate Minority Leader, Sen. Simon Mwadkwon Floors LP, APC & PRP as Tribunal affirms His Resounding Victory

| Politics |
About The Author
- Friday Bako is Certified National Accountant (CNA), Blogger, Social Media Influencer/Strategist, Youth Activist and Advocate for good governance.