Newly Inaugurated NIO President, Treasurer Harps on Tarok Unity

The President and Treasurer of Ngwang Ishi O’Tarok, NIO, Ambassador Timothy Sheni and Chief Nimfa Zwalbong, respectively, have identified the unification of the Tarok people as the main thrust of the newly inaugurated EXCO of the association.

Speaking in separate interviews after taking their oaths of office at the palace of the Ponzhi Tarok, shortly after emerging victorious at the NIO election held at GSS Pangna on Saturday, the duo had emphasized the need for the Tarok people to shun clannish and political differences and embrace one another as the brothers that they are, in order to move the Tarok nation forward.

They separately bemoaned the lack of unity among Tarok people as the greatest impediment to the progress of the land, and promised that working towards unifying the people shall form the fulcrum and topmost agenda of the new NIO leadership.

NIO is the umbrella body for all Tarok speaking tribe across the globe, which existence has spanned over 6 decades, with the late Gen. Joshua Dogonyaro as its immediate past president.

The atmosphere in Langtang North, days preceding the election was unusually boisterous, owing to electioneering activities leading to the keenly contested but exceptionally peaceful election that produced the Ambassador Sheni led executive of the association. This development, the president and his treasurer both attributed to the fact that, in its over sixty years of existence, this is the first time leadership of the association emerged through an election, as against appointment that it used to be.

Similarly, the President said, the operation of the association will now transcend its initial mandate of catering for the welfare of the downtrodden amongst them, to include embarking on developmental projects in Tarok nation.

Ambassador Sheni and Chief Zwalbong, in their separate interviews, had commended the past leaderships of the association for their various contributions to the progress and development of Tarok nation, which has provided the threshold upon which the new leadership shall build an enduring legacy.

Commenting on the caliber of people elected to lead NIO for the next four years, Chief Richard Bature, the Galadiman Dangre, said at no time was the Tarok nation fortunate enough to line up an assemblage of highly experienced, credible and committed people to spearhead any of its affairs as the current NIO leadership; hence he expressed confidence that Tarok nation is on course to regaining its lost glory.

“Ambassador Timothy Sheni was a Permanent Secretary in the Federal Civil Service, who at various times, was the chief accounting officer in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Defense, respectively. His wealth of experience in the management of human and material resources shall come to bear in the leadership of NIO”; Hon. Joshua Ubandoma Laven, the Executive Chairman of Langtang North LGC has enthused in his reaction to the emergence of the new NIO leadership.

Meanwhile, Ambassador Sheni had polled 57 votes against David Dashe’s 12 votes to emerge as the president, while Dr Karnak Dandam got 46 votes to defeat Hon. Nicholas Vongsing who polled 21 votes in the Vice president 1 contest.

The position of Secretary General was keenly contested between Nangor Ndam who got 40 votes to defeat Dokoko with 29 votes. The position of PRO 1 and 2 were won by Hon. Nanbol Listick, the member representing Langtang North-Central Constituency in the Plateau State House of Assembly with 52 votes and Nansel Dashe who polled 47 votes in their separate contests, respectively.

The positions of Treasurer – Chief Nimfa Zwalbong, Legal Adviser – Barr Selven Zingman, Provost Marshall – Nash Telzing and Welfare Secretary – Nimzing Mannaseh were returned unopposed.

Other Positions returned unopposed were Financial Secretary – Mr Yaknan Cirfat Bulus, Assistant Secretary – Mr Anthony Timjul Joro, Organizing Secretary – Comrade Njomiri Nankpak, 2nd Vice President – Mr Nanyak Ladan. Auditors 1 and 2, Mr Binbol Noah and Mr Nantim K. Changcuwei, respectively were also returned unopposed.

count | 118

Newly Inaugurated NIO President, Treasurer Harps on Tarok Unity

| News | 0 Comments
About The Author
- Cmr. Friday Bako is an Accounting Graduate, Blogger, Social Media Influencer, Youth Activist and Advocate for good governance.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>